Sumana re-boots

Sumana Harihareswara 2014Sumana Harihareswara, who delivered the keynote address at the 2014 Wikiconference USA, has announced her resignation from WMF effective Sept 30.
From the keynote speech, titled “Hospitality, Jerks, and What I Learned” :

Different people really learn incredibly differently. For instance, the Felder-Silverman Engineering Learning Styles suggest four main axes that different people vary on. Either way is good, but if you’re just going to be tailoring something for someone, they’ll learn even better.

Some people are more active learners: they want to bump into things and make mistakes, and that’s how they learn. Some people are more reflective learners: they prefer to look at a map first. Some people are more sensing learners: they prefer concrete examples. Some people are more intuitive learners, and they like to look at patterns and think about how things connect together. Visual versus verbal: do people want to make diagrams, or read or listen to words? …

I have changed the way that I teach and the way that I mentor and the way that I even ask little questions – answer little questions in IRC – based on knowing this…. Interpersonal conflict actually goes a lot smoother, because sussing out how other people are learning, and how they’re listening to me, and maybe what their mental model is that’s different from mine, makes a massive difference. It decreases friction and increases the productivity of that encounter.

The Felder-Silverman Engineering Learning Styles are named after Richard Felder and Barbara A. Soloman. Three guesses which Wikipedia article is a red link. More about the Index of Learning Styles here.

Harihareswara will remain on the board of directors at the Ada Initiative. On her personal blog, Harihaeswara talk about leaving the WMF:

I want to redefine myself and grow in new directions, … to have more of a blank slate and perhaps less of a public spotlight, to work face-to-face with a team here in New York City, and to exclude destructive communication from my life (yes, there’s some amount of burnout on toxic people and entitlement). One of the things I admire about Wikimedia’s best institutions is our willingness to reflect and reinvent when things are not working. I need to emulate that.

Music for the blog entry: “You Can’t Be Too Careful” by Moxy Früvous; “Level Up” by Vienna Teng; “Do It Anyway” by Ben Folds Five; “Teenagers, Kick Our Butts” by Dar Williams.  Imbedded:  “Level Up” by Vienna Tang and “Shake It Out” by Florence and the Machine.

Lyrics

Level Up

so come out.
you have been waiting long enough.
you’re done with all the talk talk talk with nothing on the table.
it’s time to come on out.
there will be no sign from above.
you’ll only hear the knock knock knock of your own heart as signal.

if you are afraid, come out.
if you are awake, come out.
come out and level up.

begin again.
dynamite the dam on the flow.
your body feels the tock tock tock of time as it hammers.
lord we are all cinders
from a fire burning long ago,
but here it is the knock knock knock of your own heart that matters.

if you are afraid, come forth.
if you are alone, come forth now.
everybody here has loved and lost,
so level up and love again.

call it any name you need.
call it your 2.0, your rebirth, whatever –
so long as you can feel it all,
so long as all your doors are flung wide.
call it your day #1 in the rest of forever.

if you are afraid, give more.
if you are alive, give more now.
everybody here has seams and scars.
so what. level up.

let your faith die.
bring your wonder.
yes, you are only one.
no, it is not enough
but if you lift your eyes, I am your brother.
and this is all we need.
and this is where we start.
this is the day we greet.
this is the day, no other.

“Shake It Out”

Regrets collect like old friends
Here to relive your darkest moments
I can see no way, I can see no way
And all of the ghouls come out to playAnd every demon wants his pound of flesh
But I like to keep some things to myself
I like to keep my issues drawn
It’s always darkest before the dawnAnd I’ve been a fool and I’ve been blind
I can never leave the past behind
I can see no way, I can see no way
I’m always dragging that horse aroundOur love is pastured, such a mournful sound
Tonight I’m gonna bury that horse in the ground
So I like to keep my issues drawn
But it’s always darkest before the dawnShake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh whoa
Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh whoa
And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back
So shake him off, oh whoaAnd I am done with my graceless heart
So tonight I’m gonna cut it out and then restart
‘Cause I like to keep my issues drawn
It’s always darkest before the dawn

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh whoa
Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh whoa
And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back
So shake him off, oh whoa

And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back
And given half the chance would I take any of it back
It’s a fine romance but it’s left me so undone
It’s always darkest before the dawn

Oh whoa, oh whoa…

And I’m damned if I do and I’m damned if I don’t
So here’s to drinks in the dark at the end of my road
And I’m ready to suffer and I’m ready to hope
It’s a shot in the dark aimed right at my throat
‘Cause looking for heaven, found the devil in me
Looking for heaven, found the devil in me
Well what the hell I’m gonna let it happen to me, yeah

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh whoa
Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh whoa
And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back
So shake him off, oh whoa

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh whoa
Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh whoa
And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back
So shake him off, oh whoa

Leave a Reply

