Genderdesk images for deletion

The free 3G that comes with the blog are now used up. This is not 3G per year, or per 5 years or whatever, it is 3G for all time. It has taken me 10 years to use it up (has it been that long already?), so as a temporary solution I will start deleting stuff.

For instance the post “Albert György and Melancolie“, a popular statue by a Romanian artist, gets a huge number of page hits, but what do I want it for here? It should be on Wikipedia, but no one has put it there, and it is not really one of my usual topics, which is to bring neglected women forward. So maybe that one could go.

The Wikipedia-specific posts should probably be kept.

I have discovered a way to determine whether a particular image is being used on any post, so first I will begin to find and delete unused images. Then we will see where we stand.

This is to track deletions, starting with the earliest uploads. I suppose I could keep the list in the back room, in a draft, but it might be better to have it in plain view, where I can work on it little by little.

Replace popcorn images with: popcorn-icon125px1.png or popcorn-icon100px.png  ✅

Maybe there should be a list for red links too

For deletion?

 

2 thoughts on “Genderdesk images for deletion

  1. Hiya! Please make sure to document things with an Internet Archive capture before you go zipping them away into the ether… Ciao! —tim

  2. I’ve already deleted a few posts without listing them, mostly comments on current events that didn’t age well, or were not all that momentous.

    I’m only gaining 20MB or so for every 6 months, so it looks like I need a Plan B.

    The original blog theme was “Wikipedia & Saints” so I feel those must stay. Likewise the profiles, which were discovered to have some google mojo. The profiles were an afterthought, but they have turned out to be probably the most useful thing about the blog.

    When I start getting into the coloring and paper dolls, that will probably be fairly image-intensive, so maybe I can just whisk them away to the Winter Cabin.

    If I get to the point of actual deletions, I will probably post them for a week or so in case anyone wants to save them.

Leave a comment